Please Note: The following are eBooks; username and/or password will be required outside of school.
Cause and Effect: World War I by
Contains a brief history of WWI, as well as coverage of the following questions...
How did an Austrian nobleman's death lead to war?
How did World War I help bring about the Russian Revolution?
How did Germany's naval strategy influence the U.S. decision to enter the war?
How did the U.S. entry into the war lead to Germany's defeat?
Defining Documents in American History: World War I (1914-1919)
Analysis of WWI primary sources. Available in both print and eBook. Click cover to open eBook.
Strategic Inventions of World War I by
The first World War provided an opportunity for new technologies to be developed and used. Among these technologies were the military tank, the tracer bullet, and poison gas. This book discusses World War I, the key technologies that defined it, and the legacy of those technologies today.
Trench Warfare by
Examines the conditions, designs, soldiers, diseases, and warfare tactics of World War I's trenches.
War at Sea and in the Air by
Examines how taking conflicts from land to the water and in the air has changed the strategies and tactics employed during warfare.
War on Land by
Covers the weaponry, tactics and strategies--such as fortifications, artillery and arms--that have evolved in land-based warfare from ancient times to today.
Women in World War I by
Examines the various roles women played in the war effort, as well as the new opportunities and societal changes they faced during World War I.
World War I: Frontline Soldiers and Their Families by
This book explores the Great War, or World War I, a devastating war that persisted for more than 4 years. It covers the toll of the war, including the impact on families and children far from the frontline.
World War I by
This book analyzes the first world war, which was supposed to be "the war to end all wars". It is broken down for students by region, chronology, and strategy, providing a comprehensive history paired with primary sources and photos.
World War I by
This volume considers the political and diplomatic underpinnings of World War I, from its buildup to its conclusion and into the interwar era. The major events of the war and currents of thought that shaped prewar and postwar international relations are also examined.
World War I (eBook)
Provides an introduction to World War I including, the events that led to its outbreak, the leaders, the people who fought, and the battles that shaped the conflict.
World War I Aftermath by
This title examines the fractured empires, economic turmoil, political realignments, and technological advances that emerged in the wake of World War I.
World War I and the Rise of Global Conflict by
This book examines the root causes of World War I, which escalated from a small political incident into a massive global crisis. It also details the impact of this war in its immediate aftermath and in the decades that followed. Historical photographs, primary sources, and in-depth sidebars are also included.
WorldBook is a good starting point for general research. Includes general articles on World War I, as well as more specific articles on WWI topics: generals, battles, theaters of war, U.S. entrance, etc.
Suggestion: Begin with a "World War I" search.
Salem History's Great Lives and Great Events eBooks will offer very helpful information on many World War I topics. Defining Documents in American History: World War I (1914–1919) is a great resource for WWI primary source materials.
Gale's eBook collection contains a few with specific information on World War I topics. Suggestion: Complete a simple "World War I" search, and then preview, filter, and sort your results to find the most relevant sources for your assignment.
Suggestion: Open WHIC, then select "Browse Topics" tab to find "World War I" page of collected articles of various content types. Great resource for beginning WWI research on many topics.
Click below for a portal page of resources specific to World War I.
AT-HOME ACCESS!
All NHS Databsaes/eBooks are available from home with a username/password. The username/password can found in your student planners. You can also email bhartley@npsct.org for that information. Unfortunately, I cannot post that information publicly online.
Daily Life During World War I
Presents an account of the daily lives of military personnel and civilians in France, Britain, Germany, and America during World War I, discussing recruitment and training, the experience of battle, the home front, food, bereavement, and other topics.
The Experience of World War I by
Offers a year-by-year examination of "the Great War," recounting the experiences of politicians, civilians, and soldiers, to provide insights into the war and its aftermath.
Life in the Trenches by
Describes the conditions, hardships, and horrors faced by soldiers in the trenches and on the battlefields of World War I.
More Deadly Than War by
"Explores how the Influenza Epidemic of 1918 intertwined with the horrors of World War I, offering insights from first-hand reports by medical professionals and survivors.
The New York Times Book of World War I by
Contains copies of actual New York Times newspaper articles from the World War I era.
World War I
A chronological history of WWI, including primary source materials.
World War I: A Student Encyclopedia
Featuring a wealth of new information and an extraordinary gallery of images, this five-volume set is the new standard reference for introducing students to World War I.
Please Note: book links to the catalog may not work outside of NHS.
All Quiet on the Western Front by
A classic fictional account of the German WWI experience - published in 1929.
Terrorist: Gavrilo Princip, the Assassin Who Ignited World War I by
Fictionalized account of Gavrilo Princip - in graphic novel/eBook format. Have to be logged into your Destiny account to access this title. Username = ID; Password; Last Name. Single checkout only. See Mr. Hartley for help!
It Was the War of the Trenches by 