Science Research Portal: Science Research Portal

Adapting to Climate Change

This title examines how climate change affects individuals and society, investigates how people are working to respond and adapt to climate change, and analyzes the controversies and conflicting viewpoints surrounding the issue.

Applied Science

Contains over 300 alphabetically arranged articles on a broad range of applied-science fields ranging from long-established engineering fields to cutting-edge fields such as micro- and nanotechnologies, addressing applied sciences in areas as diverse as aerospace, communications, energy, information, medical, military, transportation, forensic, and even food technologies.

Energy: in context

This book explains the fundamentals of energy science and the impact of energy on human life and the environment. Interdisciplinary in nature, it covers topics from such fields as geology, biology, physics, history, sociology, and economics.

Exploring Space

This title examines the exploration of space, taking the reader across the solar system. It examines the explorers who journeyed into Earth's orbit and beyond, and traces the development of the technology and techniques that made this exploration possible.

Forensic Science

A three-volume reference work that addresses the growing academic and public interest in the application of the sciences to criminal investigation, with essays on specific types of investigations, investigative techniques, specialized equipment, and types of evidence.

Genetics and Inherited Conditions

The latest edition to the Salem Health family, Salem Health: Genetics and Inherited Conditions alphabetically arranges 459 essays on diseases, biology, techniques, methodologies, genetic engineering, biotechnology, ethics, and social issues. Written for nonspecialists by professors and professional medical writers, this comprehensive reference publication will interest health-care consumers, premedical students, public library patrons, and librarians building scientific collections.

Medical Science

This book presents the history and practices of medical science, covering developments in the field from antiquity through the Middle Ages and into cutting-edge 21st-century techniques. The major branches of medicine are covered, as are more in-depth looks at clinical practice, disease and epidemiology, surgery, and pharmacology.

Physical Science

This book introduces students to non-living systems and teaches them how things move. There are chapters on chemicals and materials, and on forces, energy, and different kinds of waves. Diagrams, sidebars, and fact boxes provide important details.

Physics Experiments in Your Own Light Box

This book provides directions on how to build a light box of your own! Using tools and supplies you can easily find, conduct experiments and test hypotheses on reflection, refraction, shadows, color and more.

Principles of Botany

Explores the wide world of botany--the branch of biology that studies the plant kingdom, including physiology, structure, genetics, ecology, distribution, and classification of all plants, as well as how they interact with their environment.

Principles of Marine Science

Provides students and researchers with an introduction to the fundamentals of oceanography, including entries that provide in-depth examinations of more than 100 topics.

Principles of Physical Science

This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of the Physical Sciences. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting-off point to develop a thorough understanding of this oftentimes confusing subject matter.

Science and Scientists

Documents the major breakthroughs in science from ancient times to the present with emphasis on the modern era.

Science and Sustainable Energy

This book explores all forms of sustainable energy, also called renewable energy, that can be used over and over again and will never be depleted. Types covered include solar, wind, geothermal, and hydrogen-based energy. Also addressed are the scientific advances that allow for a cleaner environment and ways that renewable energy can be used in daily life.

The Science and Technology of Football

This book explores the science and technology of football. It shows how science, tech, and even math shape and sometimes alter athletic achievement and how athleticism and hard work are central to athletic performance.

Space exploration

In this volume, readers will discover how the scientific theories of figures like Isaac Newton inspired the advancements of Hermann Oberth, a founder of modern astronautics, and Robert Hutchings Goddard, the father of modern rocketry. Mathematical equations and physics lessons explain the principles these pioneers shaped.

Space Exploration

This book covers incredible work being done in our solar system, ranging from the New Horizons Pluto mission to cutting-edge studies on comets, engine technology, and humanity's future journeys to Mars.

World of Forensic Science

This guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social, and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences covers the individuals, techniques and principles of biology, chemistry, law, medicine, physics, computer science, geology, and psychology involved in the multidisciplinary examination of crime scenes and evidence used in legal proceedings.

The 100 Most Influential Scientists of All Time

Contains chronologically arranged entries profiling one hundred of the world's most influential scientists from ancient times through the twentieth century.

U-X-L Sustainable Living

This set is devoted to helping students and general readers understand the economic, social, and environmental issues humans face today. It addresses sustainability challenges and opportunities, from air pollution to natural resources, to zero waste. All 124 entries start with an overview of the topic, followed by more in-depth information which discusses its scientific, societal, and sustainable context.

Roller Coasters

Explores the impact of advances such as cell phones, portable music players, and online social networks. This volume focuses on roller coasters in detail, tracing the history and scientific breakthroughs leading to its development.

Principles of Astronomy

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of astronomy.

Principles of Anatomy

An overview of bodily structures, the building blocks of life, and major concepts and contemporary issues surrounding the study of anatomy.

Principles of Biology

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of biology.

Principles of Chemistry

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.

Principles of Computer Science

Principles of Physics

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of physics, including forces and energy, radiation and quantum physics, systems and components, waves and vibrations, and measurements.

The Science and Technology of Football

This book explores the science and technology of football. It shows how science, tech, and even math shape and sometimes alter athletic achievement and how athleticism and hard work are central to athletic performance.

Computer Science: Notable Research and Discoveries

Lacrosse: Science on the Field

This book describes the science behind lacrosse, including the engineering technology of the lacrosse stick, the biology of the human body while running, the mental side of the game, and sports medicine.

Earth Sciences: Notable Research and Discoveries

This revised edition describes the evolution of major topics in Earth sciences through the lens of key scientists and researchers in the field. It examines the issues researchers are currently investigating, such as earthquakes to volcanoes to conserving water.

Space and Astronomy: Notable Research and Discoveries

This revised edition explores a wide range of topics, including extrasolar planets, gravitational waves, dark matter and dark energy, galaxy formation and evolution, space colonization, and traveling among the stars.

Marine Sciences: Notable Research and Discoveries

This revised edition includes the study of the geology of the sea floor, the chemical and physical properties of the water, and the life in and around the ocean. It also covers weather, tsunamis, pollution, and red tides.

Weather and Climate: Notable Research and Discoveries

This revised edition covers topics that include historical information about Earth's climate, tornadoes and hurricanes, numerical weather prediction models, the greenhouse effect, intentional weather modification, and key organizations involved in weather and climate science.

Physical Sciences: Notable Research and Discoveries

This revised edition explores the ways in which scientists study atoms and their components, while also breaking down the theoretical foundations in the field. It also covers the highly advanced technology and facilities that physicists are using in their endeavors.