NHS LibGuides Home: Salem Witchcraft Trials: Salem Witchcraft Trials

Print Sources

Debatable Issues in U.S. History
Call Number: 973.2 DEB
Life among the Puritans
Call Number: 973.2 SLA
The Colonial Period, 1607-1750
Call Number: 973.2 COL
The Devil in Massachusetts
Call Number: 133.4 STA
The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft by Rosemary ellen Guiley
Call Number: REF 133.4 GUI
Witch-Hunt :Mysteries of the Salem Witch Trials
Call Number: 133.4 ARO
Witchcraft in America
Call Number: REF 133.4 SAA

Salem Witch Trials

"A man helps an alleged witchcraft victim during the infamous Salem witch trials in Massachusetts." Colonial America Reference Library, edited by Peggy Saari and Julie L. Carnagie, vol. 1: Almanac: Volume 1, UXL, 2000. Gale In Context: U.S. History, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/PC3425387068/UHIC?u=s0940&sid=UHIC&xid=5d8a2adc. Accessed 9 Sept. 2019.

WorldBook Student

WorldBook is a good starting point for general research. Includes a number of articles related to aspects of the Salem Witch Trials, including...

"Salem", "Salem Witch Trials", "Massachusetts Bay Colony", "Life in Colonial America", "Arthur Miller," "The Crucible", "Witchcraft", and "Cotton Mather."

U.S. History in Context Widget

Suggestion: Use "Browse Topics" and select "Puritanism" or "Salem Witch Trials". Each of these topic portal pages contains dozens of resources connected to those topics.

Salem History

This large collection of eBooks includes some very helpful info related to the Salem Witchcraft Trials.

Gale PowerSearch

PowerSearch searches all of the database/eBook resources that NHS owns from the Gale publishing company. Pay careful attention to filtering/sorting options once you've conducted a search.

Destiny Catalog

Find:

Advanced Search

Suggested eBooks

Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History
Daily Life During the Salem Witch Trials by K. David Goss
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.1 EBK
Daily Life in Colonial New England, 2nd Edition by Claudia Durst Johnson Presents a unique perspective on life in Colonial England, exposing many misconceptions and depicting how elements of its culture that are typically regarded as marginal--such as the activities of pirates--actually had an extensive impact of the populace.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 973.2 EBK
Documents of the Salem Witch Trials by K. David Goss Provides an introductory overview of the Salem witch trials, which is foll
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 133.4 EBK
The Salem Witch Trials by Don Nardo
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 133.4 EBK
The Salem Witch Trials by K. David Goss Provides a glimpse into the 17th century politics, religious culture, and gender issues that created the Salem witchcraft episode, and gives context to an impact that still resonates today, in everything from modern political life to popular culture.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 133.4 EBK

Websites

Famous Trials: Salem Witchcraft Trials A nicely organized website with information about many aspects of the Salem Witch Trials, including biographies.
Salem Witch Trials Notable Persons
History of Massachusetts
The Salem Witch Museum Several resources from the Salem Witch Museum.
Smithsonian - Brief History of the Salem Witch Trials
Salem Witch Trials (History.com) Contains info about the context/origins of the witch trials, the spread of hysteria, and the conclusion/legacy of this historical episode.
History of Salem Witch Trials From History of Mass blog; article contains overviews, analysis, and links to some of the afflicted.
The Witchcraft Trials in Salem

Google Search / Website Evaluation

Evaluate your selection before using:

1. Authority?

An individual? An organization? An educational institution?
What education or experience makes them an expert?

2. Objectivity?

What is the purpose of the site?
Basic information? Persuasion? Selling something?
What is the motive? Beware of bias (especially from .orgs)

3. Currency?

When was the site created? Last updated?
Is this current enough for my research?
Do the links work?

4. Content Quality?

Where does the information come from?
Does the author credit sources or give references?

References are different than links to “additional information”!