Renaissance England by
Fifteenth- and sixteenth-century English life is examined, detailing government, family life, modes of travel, housing, and more.
Daily Life in Elizabethan England by
The first book on Elizabethan England to arise out of the "living history" movement, it combines a unique hands-on approach with the best of current research. Organized for easy reference, it is enlivened with how-to sections-recipes, clothing patterns, songs and games, all gathered from original sources. This hands-on approach recreates the daily life of ordinary people, not just the aristocracy, and systematically covers the most basic facts of life in a readily accessible format. Clearly illustrated with 94 drawings, patterns, and diagrams, it provides a treasure trove of information for classroom and library use and for those interested in recreating Elizabethan life.
Elizabethan England by
Discusses British civilization during the 1559 to 1603 reign of Elizabeth I, covering such aspects as political and court intrigue, urban poverty, religious dissent, and scientific advances.
Shakespeare's Globe by
Discusses the history of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, including its construction, the plays that were performed there, its financial aspects, and the reconstruction in 1995.
Shakespeare's World and Work
The Renaissance: English literature in its historical, cultural and social contexts by 
Daily Life in Renaissance Italy by
Discover what life was like for ordinary people in Renaissance Italy through this unique resource that paints a full portrait of everyday living.
The European Renaissance and Reformation by 
Historical Atlas of the Renaissance by
Discusses the political developments in Europe from the fourteenth through the sixteenth centuries as well as the cultural changes of the period.
The Italian Renaissance by
Examines the history, achievements, and legacy of the Renaissance in Italy, with an emphasis on Florence and Rome.
The Renaissance by
Discusses the milestones and political, social, military, scientific, and cultural aspects of the Renaissance.
The Renaissance by
Includes entries covering key historical figures, significant events, and influential ideas from the European Renaissance.
This link opens in a new window
The World of Renaissance Italy: a Daily Life Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by
This book deals exclusively with Italy, revealing the ways common Italian people lived and experienced the events and technological developments that marked the Renaissance era. The coverage specifically spotlights marginal or traditionally marginalized groups, including women, homosexuals, Jews, the elderly, and foreign communities in Italian cities.
This link opens in a new windowSearch Tips: Pair the term Renaissance with another search term. Examples:
* Renaissance and women * Renaissance and education * Renaissance and crime * Renaissance and hygiene
Search Tips:
- "Browse Topics": Use "Renaissance" portal page. Browse reference articles. Complete keyword search in "Search within page".
- Pair "Renaissance" with other keywords
For example: * Renaissance and gender * Renaissance and daily life * Renaissance and society
Search Tips:
- keyword phrases "everyday life and renaissance" OR "renaissance and italy"
- limit results to reference books
Search Tips:
- Use keyword "Renaissance"; within the article use table of contents to narrow topic.
- The "Shakespeare" and "Black Death" articles also contain helpful information.
NHS owns a large collection of Gale eBooks across many subjects. The ebook titles linked in the right-hand column of this page are some of the titles that cover Renaissance/Elizabethan England/Shakespeare topics. You can search across the entire Gale eBook collection below.
Elizabethan England by
Explores the Elizabethan era, a time of Shakespeare, the English Renaissance, pirates in the Caribbean, and the majestic glory of Queen Elizabeth--but also a time of plague, poverty, and religious revolution.
This link opens in a new window
Elizabethan World reference Library by
This collection covers the broad sweep of the culture of the times, from Elizabeth's court to rural life, and from the New World explorations to the remarkable flowering of literature and drama for which the era is renowned. Perfect for both history and literatures studies, this set was designed with the student in mind.
This link opens in a new window
Life During the Renaissance by
This book examines the conditions that led to the Renaissance as well as the work of the writers, artists, dramatists and scientists who emerged during the era.
This link opens in a new window
Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them by
'Romeo and Juliet" article contains some helpful historical context information.
This link opens in a new window
The Renaissance by
This book explores the Renaissance period, producing a remarkable transformation of European society and culture. In education and in government, in wealth and in the visual arts, the Renaissance produced major changes in almost every area of European life changes which even today continue to affect the way people live, work, and think.
This link opens in a new window
Voices of Shakespeare's England by
Use "Table of Contents" to identify potentially helpful/relevant sections. "Introduction to Elizabethan England" has information on many topics.
This link opens in a new window
The Life and Times of William Shakespeare by
As with many writers before and since, William Shakespeare was influenced by the events that took shape all around him. Sweeping changes to England's politics, language, and culture that took place during his lifetime were the fertile ground from which the Bard drew inspiration. Shakespeare's life is surveyed and the social context in which he created his greatest drama and poetry is examined.
This link opens in a new window
Life in the Time of Shakespeare by
This book examines life in the time of William Shakespeare, a period of great advancement in literature but also a time when there was a tremendous gap in the standard of living between the rich and poor.
This link opens in a new windowThe World of Renaissance Italy: a Daily Life Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by
This book deals exclusively with Italy, revealing the ways common Italian people lived and experienced the events and technological developments that marked the Renaissance era. The coverage specifically spotlights marginal or traditionally marginalized groups, including women, homosexuals, Jews, the elderly, and foreign communities in Italian cities.
This link opens in a new window