AT-HOME ACCESS!
All NHS Databsaes/eBooks are available from home with a username/password. The username/password can found in your student planners. You can also email bhartley@npsct.org for that information. Unfortunately, I cannot post that information publicly online.
Addictions, Substance Abuse & Alcoholism by
Provides a two-volume set that contains 425 alphabetically arranged essays on a variety of topics, including substances of abuse, treatment and addiction overviews, organizations and foundations dedicated to treatment and prevention, physiological and psychological issues and behaviors, trends and statistics, and social contexts and concerns related to substance abuse and treatment such as advertising and media influence, aging, ethnicity, and children and substance abuse.
Attention deficit : how technology has hijacked our ability to concentrate by
Smartphones, social media, and the Internet are creating a distraction pandemic. Digital devices steal attention, lower productivity, and increase stress in users. This book focuses on personal stories, academic studies, and current events to illustrate society's attention deficit while providing advice for those who wish to go on a digital diet.
Blowing Up: the Psychology of Conflict by
This book provides students with an understanding of the important role conflict plays in our lives, the many forms conflict may take, and the ways that conflict can actually be constructive and useful as well as destructive to relationships, discussions, and groups.
Brain & Behavior by
This book explains how complex the brain is, how and why scientists study the brain, and how the brain affects behavior. This title supports NGSS From Molecules to Organisms: Structures and Processes.
Hanging Out : the Psychology of Socializing by
This book explores socialization and enjoying downtime with friends as an activity we regularly participate in but often take for granted. It applies theories and concepts from psychology and sociology to explain the functions, benefits, harms, and consequences of how we spend our free time. Readers will learn about the many forms of socializing, discover why socializing is so important, and understand the positive and negative effects of socializing.
Magill's Medical Guide by
A five volume set that covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.
To find case studies:
Link your disorder with either case study OR personal narratives.
Example: schizophrenia and case study
Example: panic attacks and personal narratives
Remember that you can use the Advanced Search to limit your search by domain (e.g. .gov or .edu sites)
Search Suggestions: Developed for teens, all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling. Complete a keyword search or use the "Browse By" feature on the left side of the database home page.
Search Suggestion: NHS owns the following Salem Health titles: Adolescent Health & Wellness, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Nutrition, Psychology & Behavioral Health, and Psychology & Mental Health. Complete a keyword search across the entire Salem eBook collection, or browse the table of contents of a relevant individual eBook.
Search Suggestions: Gale eBooks includes serveral psychology titles such as: Bullying, Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook, Psychology Basics, Domestic Violence, The Truth About Family Life, Teen Pregnancy, Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology etc.
Search Suggestions: Complete a keyword search or use the "Browse Topics" tab to find resources on your topic. Below are examples of issues that have "portal pages" of resources.
Addiction Anxiety Bipolar Disorder Grief and Loss Depression Meditation Mental Health Neuropsychological Testing Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder Personality Disorders Pet Therapy Psychological Tests Psychotherapy Sleep Disorders Schizophrenia Screen Time Suicide Prevention Teens and Depression Teens and Suicide
Search Suggestions: Complete a keyword search or use the "Browse Issues" tab to find resources on your topic. Below are examples of issues that have "portal pages" of resources.
Eating Disorders Mental Disorders Mental Health Neurodiversity
Search Suggestions. PowerSearch searches all Gale Databases/eBooks. Use the sorting features (left side of page) for best results. "Books" is often a good starting point for many research topics.
Blink : the power of thinking without thinking by
How do we think without thinking, seem to make choices in an instant--in the blink of an eye--that actually aren't as simple as they seem? Why are some people brilliant decision makers, while others are consistently inept? Why do some people follow their instincts and win, while others end up stumbling into error? And why are the best decisions often those that are impossible to explain to others? Drawing on cutting-edge neuroscience and psychology, the author reveals that great decision makers aren't those who process the most information or spend the most time deliberating, but those who have perfected the art of filtering the very few factors that matter from an overwhelming number of variables.
The Cartoon Introduction to Psychology by
"Psychology is the study of human behavior. It is a serious and worthy endeavor that has given us scientific knowledge of the ways our minds make sense of the world. Yet, as cartoonist Grady Klein and psychologist Danny Oppenheimer point out, the study of human experience can also be often really funny ... [They provide comic drawings and] observations on perception, stress, emotions, cognition, and more."
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science, Psychology
A comprehensive introduction to psychology, this work will find a home in a broad range of library collections. Each topical entry includes notes on the type of psychology and field of study covered, a list of key concepts related to the essay, and an annotated list of sources for further study. Entries on mental disorders include sidebars with the characteristic criteria for that diagnosis. High school students, undergraduates, and others will find a wealth of information in this useful set.
Mental Health Information for Teens
Provides basic consumer health information for teens about mental illness and treatment, along with tips for maintaining mental and emotional health. Includes index, resource information and recommendations for further reading.
Mindfulness and Meditation : handling life with a calm and focused mind by
"Introduces readers to the practice of mindfulness. With its roots in ancient Buddhist teachings, mindfulness--the practice of purposefully focusing attention on the present moment--can change a person's approach to stress, develop skills to handle anxiety and depression, and provide a sense of awareness and belonging . . . guides readers through how to get started with meditation as well as provides specific exercises for examining emotions, managing stress, checking social media habits and wellness routines, and setting intentions to increase happiness."
The Psychology Book by
Looks at the study of human nature and explains more than one hundred groundbreaking ideas in this field.
Why We Make Mistakes
Hallinan sets out to explore the captivating science of human error, and delves into psychology, neuroscience, and economics to discover why some of the same qualities that make us efficient also make us error-prone.
Evaluate your selection before using:
1. Authority?
2. Objectivity?
3. Currency?
4. Content Quality?
