Because We Are Bad by
". . . [A] memoir by a young woman about her childhood battle with debilitating obsessive compulsive disorder, and her hard-won journey to recovery"
Being Me with OCD by
Part memoir, part self-help for teens, Being Me with OCD tells the story of how obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) dragged the author to rock bottom—and how she found hope, got help, and eventually climbed back to a fuller, happier life. Using anecdotes, self-reflection, guest essays, and thorough research, Dotson explains what OCD is and how readers with OCD can begin to get better.
Beneath the Surface by
This comprehensive guide provides the information, encouragement, and tactical guidance you need to help yourself or others experiencing: • Depression • Academic or parental pressures • Eating disorders • Bullying • Self-harm • PTSD • Peer pressure • Anxiety • Substance abuse • Technology addiction • Suicidal thoughts or actions.
Mental Health Information for Teens
Provides basic consumer health information for teens about mental illness and treatment, along with tips for maintaining mental and emotional health. Includes index, resource information and recommendations for further reading.
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind by
"In January 2015, Lipska--a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness--was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months her frontal lobe began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia--and schizophrenia--like symptoms. But miraculously the prescribed immunotherapy began to work. Here Lipska describes her ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain"
Stress Information for Teens by
"Provides basic consumer health information for teens about common causes of stress, the effects of stress on the body and mind, and coping strategies. Includes index, resource information and recommendations for further reading."
What you must think of me : a firsthand account of one teenager's experience with social anxiety disorder
An adult reveals her continual struggle with social anxiety disorder, which she developed as a teenager, describing the causes and symptoms of the phobia, treatment options, and daily coping mechanisms.
The Abuse & Disorders genre of the NHS fiction collection includes many titles that explore mental health related topics (e.g., depression, schizophrenia, OCD, addiction, eating disorders, bipolar, etc.)
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search for a mental health topic, or "Browse by Subject" menu (left-hand side.) The Mind, Mood, Emotions subject contains articles on many mental health subjects.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search, or use the "Browse Topics" link to access portal pages of articles related to various topics. Below are links to some of the topics related to mental health. Each link brings you to an updated page of resources on the topic.
Addiction Anger Management Anorexia Nervosa Antidepressant Drugs Anxiety ADHD Bipolar Body Image Bulimia Nervosa Depression OCD Paranoia Phobias Psychological Tests Psychotherapy Schizophrenia Stress Suicide
Suggestion: Salem Health includes the following eBooks, each of which contains information on mental health topics. You can search across the entire Salem eBook collection, just the Health category, or just one specific eBook.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search for a broad subject like "mental health", or a more specific mental health subject.
The following are direct links to several individual Gale eBooks containing information on mental health topics:
Drug Information for Teens Encyclopedia of Emotion Everything You Need to Know about Stress & Depression Everything You Need to Know about Suicide and Self Harm Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook Stress Related Disorders Sourcebook Teen Guide to Mental Health
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search, or use the "Browse Issues" link to access portal pages of articles related to various topics. Below are links to some of the topics related to mental health. Each link brings you to an updated page of resources on the topic.
Behavioral Disorders Depression Mental Disorders Mental Health
| Find: | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Advanced Search | ||||
Enter topic in search box.
From the National Institutes of Health
Select Health Topics, then Mental Health & Behavior
Evaluate your selection before using:
1. Authority?
2. Objectivity?
3. Currency?
4. Content Quality?