Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art, [3 Volumes] by 
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
Great Lives from History : Latinos by
A three volume set that provides in-depth critical essays on important men and women of Latino origin in all areas of achievement throughout history.
The Hispanic American Experience by
This title explores Hispanic American stories of coming to America, striving for rights, building community, embracing identity, and facing challenges.
Hispanic and Latino American Literature for Students by
Highlights Hispanic and Latino American literary works for all students. Discussion of the literary and historical background of classic and contemporary works includes the social, political, cultural, and historical context of each work. Focuses on works by up-and-coming authors as well as frequently studied and well-established authors that have not been covered before, chosen by experts, and contains a mix of genres, including novels, poems, short stories, and dramas.
Latin American Writers by
Includes revisions on writers including Isabel Allende, Guillermo Cabrero Infante, Ernesto Cardenal and more.
Latino and Latina Writers by
A two-volume bio-bibliographical and critical examination of more than 50 Cuban, Dominican, Chicano and Puerto Rican writers. Includes only authors who have published since 1960. For students in grades 9 and higher and general reader
Latino Literature: An Encyclopedia for Students by
This volume introduces the key figures and genres central to Latino literature, covering the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Detailed historical and cultural accounts of Latino diasporas also enrich readers' understandings of the writings that have and continue to be influenced by changes in cultural geography.
Multicultural America : The Hispanic Americans by
This volume focuses on the social history, customs, and traditions of Hispanic Americans in this country.
U. S. Latino Issues by
This book covers hundreds of topics regarding Latino Americans, such as gender, sexuality, indigenous culture, race and cultural identity, health and wellness, education, and interracial dating and marriage, offers in-depth comparisons of the Latino groups, and shows how events in their native countries affect them. Controversial topics such as affirmative action, immigration reform, and open borders policy versus border enforcement are also discussed.
Understanding Latino History : Excavating the Past, Examining the Present by
This book tells the larger “story” of Latinos in the United States and describes how they represent a breadth of ethnicity. It addresses not only those in very large numbers from countries such as Mexico, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and El Salvador, but also Latino people from Peru, Argentina, Venezuela, Panama, and Costa Rica, as well as indigenous Oaxacans and Mixtecos, among others.
PowerSearch searches all Gale Databases/eBooks in IConn and the NHS Catalog.
Cool Salsa by
Poems celebrate themes and moods from Hispanic-American teenage life, from the passion of learning English to the pain of ethnic prejudice.
The Latino Reader : an American literary tradition from 1542 to the present by
Ranging from history and autobiography to poetry and drama, an anthology of Latino literature includes writings by Cabeza de Vaca, Luis Valdez, and Sandra Cisneros, along with selections from rare and obscure texts previously untranslated into English.
Red Hot Salsa : Bilingual Poems on Being Young and Latino in the United States by
A stunning variety of Latino poets, both familiar names and new voices, illuminate the difficulty of straddling cultures, languages, and identities, while celebrating food, family, love, and triumph.
U. S. Latino Literature : a Critical Guide for Students and Teachers by
Includes essays on the the following authors: Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca, Maria Amparo Ruiz de Burton, Piri Thomas, Tomas Rivera, Rudolfo A. Anaya, Oscar Acosta, Edward Rivera, Richard Rodriguez, Oscar Hijuelos, Sandra Cisneros, Julia Alvarez, Gloria Anzaluda, Esmeralda Santiago, Judith Ortiz Cofer, Cristina Garcia, Junot Diaz, Cheech Marin,
Wachale! : poetry and prose on growing up Latino in America by
A bilingual collection of poems, stories, and other writings which celebrates diversity among Latinos.
¡Manteca! : an anthology of Afro-Latin@ poets by
Presents a collection of poems written by over forty poets who are Latinos of African descent.
