NHS LibGuides Home: Health and Wellness Portal: Health & Wellness Home

Featured Websites

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Family Doctor From the American Academy of Physicians
Healthfinder U. S. Dept. of Health and Human Services Guide to Healthy Living. Includes personal health tools and health services information.
Mayo Clinic Health Information
Medline Plus MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
National Center for Health Statistics Provides U.S. public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality. Public use data files are available for download.
National Institutes of Health The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Nutrition Gateway Government nutrition resources.
The Nutrition Source Harvard University School of Public Health's Knowledge for Healthy Eating
Statistical Abstract of the United States Statistics compiled by the Census Department on topics including health, education, economics, population, employment, income, etc.
TeensHealth From the Nemours Center for Children's Health Media
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Teen Pregnancy Resources and statistics on adolescent pregnancy.
USDA Food and Nutrition Center
World Health Organization Health Topics WHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable. Our goal is to ensure that a billion more people have universal health coverage, to protect a billion more people from health emergencies, and provide a further billion people with better health and well-being.

Google Research Tip

Enter Research: followed by your search term to locate scholarly articles - a real time saver!

See the example below

PowerSearch Widget

PowerSearch searches all Gale Databases/eBooks in ResearchIt CT and the NHS Catalog. Use the filters and sorting features to narrow your results.

Researching Health & Wellness Topics

When researching for health information currency and accuracy are important!

Databases and government websites (e.g., National Institutes of Health) offer objective information and are good choices for serious research. Evaluate your sources carefully! Consider...

* Authority (Author's education/experience)

* Objectivity (The source's purpose/mission)

* Currency (How recent is the information)

* Content Quality (Are references given? Proper spelling/writing mechanics?)

Health and Wellness

Suggestion: Click "Browse Topics" for a list of topics with portal pages full of resources.

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Salem Health (eBook)

Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works Adolescent Health & Wellness, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Nutrition, Psychology and Behavioral Health, and Psychology & Mental Health.

Teen Health and Wellness

Research body issues, diseases and disabilities, drugs and alcohol, emotions, families, nutrition, relationships, safety, sexuality and sexual health. Contains articles, hotlines, and personal stories.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context Widget

Complete a keyword search, or click on the image below and select the "Health and Medicine" category for a list of topics/portal pages.

Some examples of topics include:

Alternative Medicine Antibiotics Bioethics Cancer E-Cigarettes and Vapor Products Health Care Access Health Insurance Human Genetics Infectious Diseases Influenza

Gale eBooks

Suggestion: Complete a keyword search across the entire NHS Gale eBook collection (~1,000 titles), or select "Medicine" under Browse Collections (left side of page.) A sampling of Gale eBook on health/wellness-related topics is linked below.

CT Resources

University of Connecticut Health Center Library's consumer health information program for Connecticut residents and public libraries.

From the Wheeler Clinic, The Connecticut Clearinghouse provides information on substance abuse and mental health disorders, prevention and health topics.

Health and Wellness eBooks

Adolescent Health Sourcebook

Offers parents and teens basic information about growth and development during adolescence and related safety issues. Discusses the importance of routine medical care, adequate nutrition, physical activity, and sleep, as well as emotional, social, and mental health concerns. Describes common health problems that affect adolescents, including acne, allergies, asthma, diabetes, and infections. Addresses reproductive development and the health consequences of sexual decisions.

AIDS Sourcebook

Provides basic consumer information about the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS), including information about the stages of the disease and about how it is transmitted. It includes guidelines for preventing disease transmission and details about how it is diagnosed and the various drug regimens used in its treatment as well information on co-occurring infections and complications, plus ips for living with HIV.

Standing up to Bullying at School

This book addresses the increased risk of LGBTQ+ youth being bullied at school, which can lead to serious consequences for their mental health, academic performance, and physical safety; and the increase of public awareness of the issue with schools now expected to provide a safe learning environment for students of every sexual orientation and gender identity. It provides resources and strategies for helping LGBTQ+ students overcome bullying and maintain their well-being.

Health & Wellness

CT Consumer Health Information
CT Consumer Health Information offers resources provided for Connecticut residents with medical questions. Provided by the University of Connecticut Health Center’s Lyman Maynard Stowe Library.

Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Health and Wellness Resource Center allows the user to find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases.

Medline Plus
Medline Plus was developed by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health for consumers needing up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health Collection includes nearly 400 titles. All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to topics discussed in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Salem Health eBooks offer reliable articles (complete with illustrations, sidebars, indexes, appendixes, key terms glossary, etc.). NHS owns the following Salem Health titles: Adolescent Health & Wellness, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Nutrition, Psychology & Behavioral Health, Psychology & Mental Health, and Addictions, Substance Abuse, and Alcoholism.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Teen Health and Wellness provides reliable content covering topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, green living, financial literacy, and more.

Health and Wellness Portal: Health & Wellness Home

Featured Websites

Google Research Tip

PowerSearch Widget

Researching Health & Wellness Topics

Health and Wellness

Salem Health (eBook)

Teen Health and Wellness

Opposing Viewpoints In Context Widget

Gale eBooks

CT Resources

Health and Wellness eBooks

Adolescent Health Sourcebook

Adolescent Health and Wellness

AIDS Sourcebook

Everything You Need to Know about Suicide and Self-Harm

Fitness Information for Teens

Standing up to Bullying at School

Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues

Defeating Addiction and Alcoholism

Heroin and Its Dangers

Addicted to e-Cigarettes and Vaping

Addicted to Opioids

Alcohol Information for Teens, 5th Ed

Conquering Diet Drug Abuse

Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues

Health & Wellness