The Industrial Revolution by
This guide presents the changes that led to the revolution, important inventions and innovations, societal and economic consequences, and the Second Industrial Revolution in the United States.
This link opens in a new window
The Industrial Revolution by
The Industrial Revolution that began in Great Britain in the mid-seventeenth century transformed the British economy-and later the economies of Western Europe and the U.S.- from a rural, agricultural system into an industrial society, centered around the factory system of mass production and specialized labor. the right mix of social, political and legal conditions in Britain at the time led to the discovery of labor. The right mix of social, political and legal conditions in Britain at the time led to the discovery of fresh sources of power and energy, and to advances in agriculture, manufacturing, communication and transportation. Notable results included the steam engine, which made possible everything from textile factories to railroads, and, later in the U.S., the cotton gin, electric light, and automobiles.This comprehensive volume explores all these events and more, including the aftermath of the Revolution-its spread beyond Britain and the U.S. to Asia and throughout the world, allowing for a higher standard of living while challenging that standard with increased pollution and health problems, a widened economic and social class gap, and a weakening of traditional family structure. Biographical sketches of key figures, a chronology of events, primary document excerpts from the period, and a print and nonprint source bibliography supplement the work.
This link opens in a new window
The Industrial Revolution by
This book traces changes in American life due to industrialization, beginning with eighteenth-century England before focusing on America.
This link opens in a new window
The Industrial Revolution by
This book covers the Industrial Revolution from its early days in the late eighteenth century to the early years of the twentieth century when the American, European, and Japan societies transformed from rural agrarian societies into industrialized nations. Factories designed to manufacture commercial and consumer products were established, and around these factories, cities grew as workers flocked from the farms and small towns to take jobs in these new enterprises.
This link opens in a new window
The Industrial Revolution by
This book examines the lasting worldwide impact, both positive and negative, of the Industrial Revolution. Detailed maps and in-depth sidebars are also included.
This link opens in a new window
The Industrial Revolution (United States) by
This book discusses the Industrial Revolution, and its effects on family life, childhood, and the economy in the United States. Full-color photographs, maps, fact boxes, timelines, and a glossary are also provided.
This link opens in a new window
Life During the Industrial Revolution by
Readers learn what life was like for individuals and their families, what their days consisted of, what they ate and what they wore, living through the Industrial Revolution.
This link opens in a new window
Technology of the Industrial Revolution by
This book explores technological achievements within individual fields during the Industrial Revolution, such as power, textiles, transport, communications, and other industries. It also examines the changes to labor and the workplace that were brought about by the Industrial Revolution.
This link opens in a new window
Industrial Revolution - Almanac by
Provides an overview of the Industrial Revolution, including the history of the era, the technological advances, the migration of workers, the impact on society, and the changes in the workplace.
Life in Charles Dicken's England by
Describes the people and conditions of life in Victorian England during the time of Charles Dickens and examines how those conditions are reflected in his work.
Life in Victorian England by
Discusses the daily activities, social lives, and general social conditions of people of different classes living in Victorian England.
Discusses what it was like to live in England during the Victorian period.
Victorian England by
Discusses the milestones and the political, social, military, scientific, and cultural aspects of Victorian England.
The Industrial Revolution by
Excerpts from letters, journals, legal documents, books, and magazines accompany a detailed account of the industrial revolution.
Suggestion: A good starting point for research on many topics. The "Industrial Revolution" article, as well as individual articles on inventors/inventions, may helpful for your research.
Suggestion: The Salem eBook collection includes the Great Events and Great Lives series, which will provide helpful articles on your topics. Pay special attention to the "Significance" section of the article!
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search (for your inventor or invention) or use the "Industrial Revolution" portal page (from "Browse Topics" tab) to find helpful resources on a variety of topics. The "Industrial Revolution" portal page is linked below.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search for your topic, or sort by the categories provided on the database home page.
Suggestion: This large collection of eBooks contains a few eBooks with Industrial Revolution topics. Some of the more helpful eBooks are linked on the left-hand side of this LibGuide. There are some articles on a specific inventor or invention. You will also find longer/broader articles about the industrial revolution and innovation.
Click the graphic below for the NHS database/eBook remote username/password.
(Must be logged into an NPS Chrome account.)
Evaluate your selection before using:
1. Authority?
2. Objectivity?
3. Currency?
4. Content Quality?
