Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights
Human Rights Violations
Women's Suffrage by Check all sites for credibility and reliability - do not use a site that does not have an author or source
Use quotes around terms that should be together:
"plaza de mayo"
"freedom rides"
"women's suffrage"
Link terms where needed:
"Vietnam War" and protests
Solidarity and Poland
"general strike" and "south africa"
Be aware of alternate spellings:
Tiananmen
Brown v. Board of Education
Great starting point for research on a variety of topics. Helpful articles on almost all assignment topics - ex. Tiananmen Square, Edward Snowden, Bradley Manning, Roe v. Wade, Stem Cell Research, Occupy Wall Street, etc.
Use this to research people's lives. For example, Mohandis Gandhi, Bradley Manning, Edward Snowden, Al Gore, Michael J. Fox, Michael Moore, Nelson Mandela, etc.
Salem eBook titles such as Encyclopedia of Climate Change, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, as well as titles from the Great Events series, Great Lives series, and Decades series all might be helpful and relevant to your research topic.
Either search for your topic (or related keyword), or select "Browse Topics" for a list of topics covered by this database. There are "portal pages" for each of the following topics (among others): Stem Cells Research, Egypt, Immigrants & Immigration, Apartheid: Lingering Issues, and Climate Change.
Either search for your topic (or related keyword), or select "Browse Issues" for a list of topics covered by this database. There are "portal pages" for each of the following topics (among others): Stem Cells, Occupy Movement, Black Lives Matter, Egyptian Revolution, Same Sex Marriage.
Either search for your topic (or related keyword), or select "Browse Topics" for a list of topics covered by this database.
Either search for your topic (or related keyword), or select "Browse Topics" for a list of topics covered by this database.
Great resource for a variety of topics. The following GVRL eBook titles (among others) will be helpful for a variety of research topics: Daily Life of Women during the Civil Rights Era, Encyclopedia of African American History, Encyclopedia of American Social Movements, The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History, Icons of African American Protest: Trailblazing Activists of the Civil Rights Movement, and Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia.
| Find: | ||||
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
| Advanced Search | ||||
After entering a search term, be sure to select a search type - pressing "enter" will not perform a search.
Search Tips:
Search the broad categories, for ex. "women's suffrage"
Your group likely has a webpage that outlines their mission and work. Use Google to search for your group.
See examples of social justice groups below:
