The Bolshevik Revolution by
Offers multiple perspectives on momentous events. This volume covers the Bolshevik Revolution, one of the most influential political events of the twentieth century. It shaped not only the history of Russia but that of the entire world.
This link opens in a new window
Competing Voices from the Russian Revolution: Fighting Words by
This new collection of documents helps students understand the complex texture of Russian public rhetoric and popular debate during World War I and the 1917 Revolution. - More than 300 original documents from the national and local press and from unpublished provincial archival materials, all carefully edited and annotated and either translated into English for the first time or presented in new translations ?- A chronology of major events in Russia for the period from summer 1914 to mid-January 1918 - Cartoons that appeared in the national and local press in 1917 - A map of Russia in 1917 showing the locations of important cities and geographical features.
This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Behind the Iron Curtain by
This book describes how everyday people courageously survived under repressive Communist regimes until the voices and actions of rebellious individuals resulted in the fall of the Iron Curtain in Europe.
This link opens in a new window
Defining Documents in American History by
Provides in-depth analysis of eighty-six primary source documents and historic events related to the Cold War era.
This link opens in a new window
The Russian Revolution by
This historical narrative relates the circumstances that led to the end of the Romanov Dynasty and the Russian aristocracy, the heartrending struggles of the peasants, the violence and bloodshed of the revolution, and the rise of the new social order and its far-reaching consequences that continue to be felt in Russia today.
This link opens in a new window
Russian Revolution of 1917: the Essential Reference Guide by
This book, through the combination of reference entries and examination of primary documents from the Russian Revolution, provides students with a better understanding of how and why political forces fought to reshape the Russian empire 100 years ago--and provides keen insights into the Soviet Union that resulted.
This link opens in a new window
Socialism and Communism by
The story of socialism and communism is a saga of idealism and cynicism, revolution and repression, power and powerlessness. The entire political and economic history of the modern era is contained in this account, forming a detailed and lively panorama.
This link opens in a new windowGale PowerSearch searches all Gale products. Suggestion: Keep your initial search simple (e.g., Russian Revolution), then use the filter/sorting options to identify articles most relevant to your assignment.
Suggestion: Select "World History" -- then sort by the chronological menu provided. Once you select the event (e.g., Russia - Revolution or Vladimir Lenin), sort your results by "Reference Books."
WorldBook is a good starting point for general research. Includes general articles on the Russian Revolution, as well as articles on specific elements of the event - such as Vladimir Lenin, Leon Trotsky, Gregory Rasputin, Bolsheviks, Nicholas II, etc.
Suggestion: Begin with a "Russian Revolution" search.
Salem History's Great Lives and Great Events eBooks will offer very helpful information on many Russian Revolution topics.
Defining Documents in World History contains source analyses of Karl Marx's Communist Manifesto and Vladimir Lenin's What is to be done?
Gale's eBook collection contains a few with specific information on Communism and the Russian Revolution. Suggestion: Complete a simple "Russian Revolution" search, and then preview, filter, and sort your results to find the most relevant sources for your assignment.
Suggestion: Open WHIC, then select "Browse Topics" tab to find topics such as "Russian Revolution", "Soviet Union", "Vladimir Lenin", "Joseph Stalin", "Communism", "Marxism", and "Karl Marx". Each of these topics has a collection of resources updated and maintained by WHIC.
The Cold War by
Examines the Cold War and its impact on America, the Soviet Union, and the world. Features include narrative overviews of key events and trends, 100+ primary source documents, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and subject index
Communism by
Gives an overview of communism as a political system, including an historical discussion of communist regimes throughout the world
The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion & the Fall of Imperial Russia by
Traces the story of the Russian Revolution, the lives of the Romanov family and the story of their tragic deaths, in an account that draws on primary source materials and includes period photography.
Evaluate your selection before using:
1. Authority?
2. Objectivity?
3. Currency?
4. Content Quality?