The Cold War by
Examines the Cold War and its impact on America, the Soviet Union, and the world. Features include narrative overviews of key events and trends, 100+ primary source documents, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and subject index
An uneasy peace, 1945-1980 by
Discusses the Cold War, its origins and the resulting conflicts, including the arms race, the Korean War, the Cuban missile crisis, and the Vietnam War.
Cold War : a student encyclopedia by
The most comprehensive and up-to-date student reference on the Cold War, offering expert coverage of all aspects of the conflict in a richly designed format, fully illustrated to give students a vivid sense of life in all countries affected by the war.
Opposing Viewpoints in American History, Volume 2 by
Presents a collection of primary and secondary documents offering varying opinions on events in American history.
Primary Sources by
Presents the original documents used as source material for the American War Library, Cold War series.
The Cold War years by
Describes the changes that occured in the United States during the mid-twentieth century, as the country tried to achieve its democratic ideals while struggling against nations promoting the rival social system of communism.
The Collapse of the Soviet Union by
At midnight on December 31, 1991, the flag of the Soviet Union came down for the last time, signaling the end of Soviet power and the end of the communist dream. After the Russian Revolution of 1917, Soviet leaders had aimed to establish communism throughout the world. But early idealism turned to dictatorship, fueling the long, terrifying stalemate of the Cold War. By 1989, the Soviet Union was tottering, unable to control its own inhabitants or compete with the West. Its collapse changed global politics forever.
The Cold War Period, 1945-1992 by
Presents nearly thirty essays and primary documents on thepolitical, cultural, and social struggles and changes that shaped America in the years of the Cold War, from 1945 to 1992; and includes a detailed chronology.
The Formation and Dissolution of the Soviet Union by
Examines how the history, geography, and culture of the region impacted the formation and dissolution of the Soviet Union.
WorldBook Student is great starting point for research on many topics. You may find the following specific articles helpful for your research: "Cold War", "Space Race", "Berlin Wall", "Berlin Airlift", "Cuban Missile Crisis", "Red Scare", "Potsdam Conference", "Iron Curtain", "Suez Crisis".
This database is an excellent place to search for "Primary Sources" and "Images" - with the appropriate/complete MLA citations.
Complete a keyword search, or select one of the following portal pages. Each of the following topics has its own updated page of resources.
Atomic Bomb Berlin Wall China Since 1949 Cold War French Indochina Germany 1945-1990 Mikhail Gorbachev Korean War Mao Zedong Karl Marx Marxism North Korea Post-Soviet Russia Russian Revolution Space Race Joseph Stalin United Nations Vietnam War
NHS owns dozens of eBooks published by Salem. Several of them examine topics related to the Cold War, including Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and multiple volumes of the Defining Documents series.
NHS owns hundred of Gale eBooks on many different topics. Several eBooks examine the many aspects of the Cold War era.
PowerSearch searches all Gale Databases/eBooks in ResearchIT CT and the NHS Catalog.
Be sure to use the sorting/filtering options for the best results! Sort by "Books" for the best results for this assignment.
Biography in Context in a great resource for research on individuals, historical figures, etc. related to the Cold War. Complete a keyword search or use the "Browse People" tab.
Click the graphic below for the NHS database/eBook remote username/password.
(Must be logged into an NPS Chrome account.)
The 20th Century, 1941-1970 by
In this set, the mid-twentieth century receives worldwide coverage that prioritizes the needs of students at the high school and undergraduate levels. The events covered include the curriculum-oriented geopolitical events of the era--from World War II (1939-1945) and the Holocaust to the formation of the United Nations and the start of the Cold War in 1945, from the Korean War (1950-1953) to the war in Vietnam (1959-1975). Essays also address important social and cultural developments in literature, the arts, music, law, and social and civil rights legislation.
This link opens in a new window
Cause and Effect: The Cold War by
This title begins with a brief history of the Cold War and then examines these questions: How did Stalin's Postwar Strategy lead to the start of the Cold War? What effect did the McCarthy Hearings have on Cold War Policies? How did the Cuban Missile Crisis affect US and Soviet Cold War strategies? Did the American Military buildup in the 1980s help end the Cold War?
This link opens in a new window
Cause and Effect: The Fall of the Soviet Union by
This title begins with a brief history of the Soviet Union's collapse and then examines these questions: How did czarist policies contribute to the rise of communism? How did Soviet economic polices lead to collapse? What role did the Cold War weapons buildup play in the Soviet collapse? How did the collapse of the Soviet Union lead to war and ethnic conflict?
This link opens in a new window
Cause and Effect: World War II by
This title begins with a brief history of World War II and then examines these questions: How did the Treaty of Versailles contribute to Hitler's rise? How did the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor influence the war's outcome? How did the Nazi invasion of the Soviet Union change the course of the war? How did the end of World War II contribute to the start of the Cold War?
This link opens in a new window
The Cold War by
This book examines major aspects of the Cold War, including the rivalry between the United States and the Soviet Union, Europe's Iron Curtain, the nuclear arms race, decolonization in Africa, and the spread of communism into Latin America and Southeast Asia.
This link opens in a new window
Defining Documents in American History by
Provides in-depth analysis of eighty-six primary source documents and historic events related to the Cold War era.
This link opens in a new window
Postwar America : an encyclopedia of social, political, cultural, and economic history by
This reference work provides coverage of the developments in U.S. affairs from the outbreak of the Cold War to the early twenty-first century, as well as their far-reaching effects on the rest of the world. A-Z entries shed light on notable events, movements, organizations, geographical locations, concepts, and artistic, cultural, and scientific trends.
This link opens in a new window
Weapons of Mass Destruction by
Examines the science behind nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons of mass destruction, and what treaties and precaution have been enacted to restrict the loss of lives due to these devices.
This link opens in a new window