Browse the following Dewey areas:
940.531 - personal narratives
940.5318 - general resources on the Holocaust
Especially good titles:
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by
Excellent resource for all Holocaust-related topics.
The Final Solution by
Discusses the origins, development, and implementation of the Final Solution, in which six million Jews were systematically exterminated by the Nazis during World War II.
Holocaust by
Examines the complex political and social backdrop that allowed the Holocaust to occur, as well as its progression and aftermath, with testimony from survivors. Contains primary source material
The Nazi Holocaust by
Examines the psychological aspects of the Holocaust and discusses its moral and ethical issues
People of the Holocaust by 
Understanding the Holocaust by 
Voices of the Holocaust by 
The Warsaw Ghetto Uprising by
Discussing the roots of anti-Semitism and providing background on Hitler's rise to power, this illustrated account of the Polish Jews' rebellion against the Nazis pays homage to the courage of the Warsaw inhabitants who battled against overwhelming odds.
What we knew : terror, mass murder, and everyday life in Nazi Germany : an oral history by
Drawing on interviews with four thousand German Jews and non-Jewish Germans who experienced the Third Reich firsthand, an intriguing oral history describes everyday life in Nazi Germany, addressing such issues as guilt and ignorance concerning the mass murder of European Jews, anti-Semitism, and the popular appeal of Hitler and National Socialism.
Daily Life During the Holocaust by
Draws from journals, diaries, photographs, poetry, and personal testimonies of Holocaust victims, as well as documents of the Nazi regime, to provide information about the day-to-day lives of Jews and others who were persecuted by the Nazis; and includes accounts from victims of post-Holocaust injustices.
Terezin : voices from the Holocaust by
Through inmates' own voices--from secret diary entries and artwork to excerpts from memoirs and recordings narrated after the war--"Terezin" explores the lives of Jewish people in one of the most infamous of the Nazi transit camps.
Suggestion: Select "World History" -- "Twentieth Century through World War II (1920-1945) -- scroll down to "Holocaust" -- sort by "Reference."
WorldBook is a good starting point for general research. Includes articles on the Anti-Semitism, Auschwitz, Final Solution, Holocaust (good overview), Judaism, Wannsee Conference, Warsaw Ghetto, etc,
The NHS Gale eBook collection contains several titles that contain relevant information on aspects of the Holocaust. Suggestion: Start with a general "Holocaust" keyword search, and the browse results. Also try various keyword searches related to your topic. Some of the Gale eBooks with Holocaust information are linked below.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search, OR open WHIC, then select "Browse Topics" tab to find "Holocaust" page of collected articles of various content types. Great resource for beginning WWI research on many topics.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search, OR open Gale in Context, then select "Browse Topics" tab to find "Holocaust" page of collected articles of various content types. Great resource for beginning WWI research on many topics.
The Salem eBook collections contains several reference eBooks that contain information relevant to Holocaust topics. Suggestion: Complete a simple "Holocaust" search and filter/sort/skim results for the most relevant sources.
 |
For an overview of your topic, this website is a great place to start. Choose the link most appropriate to your topic - ex. people, arts, timeline |
|
|
The ultimate online Holocaust resource |
Defining Documents in World History: Genocide and the Holocaust by
Provides a two-volume set that explores the role that genocide has played in history, from 1428 BCE to today.
This link opens in a new window
Genocide: When Is Intervention Necessary by
This book looks back at some of the most reprehensible acts of genocide in human history to gain a better understanding of what interventions have taken place in the past, and to what extent they have helped.
This link opens in a new window
Hitler's Final Solution by
This series examines the people and events that lie at the heart of the Holocaust. This title focuses on Hitler's so-called Final Solution, the genocidal campaign that began with hatred and exclusion but steadily escalated to encompass persecution, expulsion, and, finally, the annihilation of more than 6 million Jews.
This link opens in a new window
The Holocaust by
Examines the origins of the Holocaust, the means by which Nazi Germany carried it out, and some of the debates it has inspired.
This link opens in a new window
Life in Nazi Germany by
This book examines life in Nazi Germany, representing one of the darkest chapters in human history as the regime of Adolf Hitler took dictatorial control while leading the country into war
This link opens in a new window
World War II: the Essential Reference Guide by
This book provides comprehensive coverage of all major campaigns and theaters of World War II. It includes primary-source documents created by both famous leaders and average citizens. (Link takes you directly to "The Holocaust" section.)
This link opens in a new windowEvaluate your selection before using:
1. Authority?
2. Objectivity?
3. Currency?
4. Content Quality?
