Shakespeare's World and Work822.3 is the number for Shakespeare. Many of the LITCRIT 822.3 and REF 822.3 books have sections on the Elizabethan World .
Daily Life During the Black Death
Daily life during the Black Death was anything but normal. When plague hit a community, every aspect of life was turned upside down, from relations within families to its social, political, and economic structure. Theaters emptied, graveyards filled, and the streets were ruled by the terrible corpse-bearers whose wagons of death rumbled day and night.
Daily Life in Elizabethan England
Students, teachers, and interested readers will find in this resource a vivid and intimate account of life in the Elizabethan age. The first book on Elizabethan England to arise out of the "living history" movement, it combines a unique hands-on approach with the best of current research. Organized for easy reference, it is enlivened with how-to sections-recipes, clothing patterns, songs and games, all gathered from original sources. This hands-on approach recreates the daily life of ordinary people, not just the aristocracy, and systematically covers the most basic facts of life in a readily accessible format. Clearly illustrated with 94 drawings, patterns, and diagrams, it provides a treasure trove of information for classroom and library use and for those interested in recreating Elizabethan life.
Elizabethan England by
Discusses British civilization during the 1559 to 1603 reign of Elizabeth I, covering such aspects as political and court intrigue, urban poverty, religious dissent, and scientific advances.
Historical Atlas of the Renaissance
Discusses the political developments in Europe from the fourteenth through the sixteenth centuries as well as the cultural changes of the period.
Shakespeare by
A biography of the Bard written especially for children. It profiles the life and times of Shakespeare, peppered with quotes from plays he wrote, and includes short synopses of the more famous ones.
PowerSearch searches the following: all Gale Databases/eBooks in ResearchIT CT and the NHS Catalog.
Search Tip:
Enter topic directly in search box. From results list, select BOOKS from the left menu for best results.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search or use the "Browse People" tab.
Suggestion: Complete a keyword search or use the "Browse Topics" tab.
Suggestion: Search "Elizabethan". Click "View All Reference". Browse reference article titles for sources likely to be relevant to your topic.
Also - try "Search Within" tool to narrow by a specific term.
WorldBook Student is an online encyclopedia with generally short articles on many topics. The "Elizabethan Age" article provides a nice overview/summer of the time period.
Suggested keywords:
* search costume for fashion topics
* search Elizabethan or Renaissance for a variety of Elizabethan world topics, including everyday life etc.
* search Globe and Shakespeare
Elizabethan World reference Library by
This collection covers the broad sweep of the culture of the times, from Elizabeth's court to rural life, and from the New World explorations to the remarkable flowering of literature and drama for which the era is renowned. Perfect for both history and literatures studies, this set was designed with the student in mind.
Elizabethan England by
Explores the Elizabethan era, a time of Shakespeare, the English Renaissance, pirates in the Caribbean, and the majestic glory of Queen Elizabeth--but also a time of plague, poverty, and religious revolution.
Voices of Shakespeare's England by
Use "Table of Contents" to identify potentially helpful/relevant sections. "Introduction to Elizabethan England" has information on many topics.
Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them by
'Romeo and Juliet" article contains some helpful historical context information.
Use keywords from your topic to search:
Ex. Elizabethan language
“Elizabethan England” and religion
Evaluate your selection before using:
1. Authority?
2. Objectivity?
3. Currency?
4. Content Quality?
